02
Nov
10

traveling encounters

One of the things I love most about traveling is those chance meetings which help you pass the time on the train or plane, provide a couple good laughs, teach you about another place, person, or culture, and connect you with someone else, leaving you happy to have done so.  On this road trip, I set out to reconnect with friends and family who I don’t see very often; however, in the process I’ve had a few fun encounters outside the box.

***

“K__ D___?”

I was heading out of the East Grand Rapids library one afternoon, my bike helmet in hand, when I stopped myself, turned around and called out the first and last name of the woman I had just walked by.  Sure enough, despite the fact that it has been seven years since I last saw her, K___ had also turned around in startled recognition.  At Hope College we had met through our mutual interest and involvement wiht the theater program.  Circumstantial friends in college, I had lost touch after graduation, so I was startled to suddenly run into her at the EGR library.

It turns out that K___ is still teaching 6th grade at a magnet arts school in the area and was  stopping by the library on the way between school and a church meeting.  It was fun catching up a bit in the middle of the library, and we exchanged phone numbers.  So, I gave her a ring a week later, and we made plans to meet up on Saturday for the Fulton Street Farmers Market followed by breakfast at a popular local joint.  It was exciting to hear what she’s been up to during the past few years, but sad to hear about some more recent personal challenges.  At breakfast, we discovered that she attended the same church as the friend with whom I was staying, so I made plans to meet up with K___ at the 9:40 service.  (Calvary is one of those mega churches with multiple services of over a thousand people per service, so you really do need to make a meeting point!)  In the end, my chance meeting with K___ was a blessing in the sense that I felt encouraged by her joy and vibrant faith in the midst of the challenges and uncertainty surrounding her personal life.   She reminded me of the powerful influences of our community and the belief in a God whose grace sustains.

(Grand Rapids, Michigan)

***

“So, you’ve read them all already?”

The question came from behind me as I replaced yet another new hardcover book to the shelf at The Tattered Cover bookstore in Denver.  It was probably at least the fifteenth on that particular shelf that I had picked up, perused, and returned its place.  I turned around to place the voice and found a youthful, middle-aged man sitting in one of the tall-backed armchairs in this little nook of the store.  Dressed in a black turtleneck tucked into slim black jeans with a pink cap on his head, it came as no real surprise to me to learn part way into our conversation that he was from New York City and SoHo in particular (South of Houston…pronounced “House-tin” in the city.)  Sauve, playful, and erect with legs crossed, his eyes danced as he realized he’d caught me in my window shopping.  We started chatting, and it turns out that he too was traveling, although unlike me he had no route planned out.  Denver just happened to be his first stop where he had rented an apartment for a month.  He took great delight in this adventure that I’ve embarked on as I described it to him.  And thus I probably spent an hour chatting with a New Yorker in the corner of an independent book store, trading traveling stories and future destinations.

(Denver, Colorado)

***

“Would you want to keep dancing later?”

Having driven just over an hour to Lincoln in order to tango, I threw my stuff down on some chairs at a table in the bar, and ran off to the restroom immediately.  When I came back out, I was a bit thrown off when I found that the table had disappeared (although my things on the chairs were still where I had left them).  A young man sitting nearby turned around with an outstretched hand and introduced himself as N__–the table-stealer.  N__ also became my first dance of the evening during which I learned a bit of his “dance life story.”  (Every dancer has one…and we generally love to talk about them :))  The tanda ended, and we headed off the dance floor and N__ introduced me to a couple of other people from the small Lincoln tango community.

I danced with a bunch of other people both following and leading during the next few tandas.  However, I did notice that N___ is one of those men that is always dancing and asks absolutely every woman in the room.   (Of course, in a small tango community like Lincoln’s that’s not too hard to do!)  Still, I like this quality in a dancer and try as much as possible as a follower to accept a request to dance–at least the first time–from any man who asks.  (Of course, if you’re hurting me or drunk or have no idea what you’re doing and not learning, I might decline the second time :))  Later during the milonga, N__ and I danced again, and this time he asked if I’d be interested in heading out somewhere else in town after the milonga was over to keep dancing.  Looking for clarification since I knew that this was the only milonga in town that night, he explained that he likes dancing all styles (blues, west coast swing, tango, salsa, etc.) to whatever music the DJ’s playing.  Although slightly odd, I thought what the heck.  I have nothing else to do tonight.  (The friend I’m staying with was out on a date of sorts.)  The only hitch was that I’d have to give N__ a ride home since he had carpooled there and the other young woman wasn’t interested in staying out later.  As it was on my way back to Omaha, I figured I could handle that.

So when the milonga ended around 10:30 p.m., we headed out.  (NYC milongeros will understand how comical this is since milongas in the city only begin around 9 or 10 and many of the good dancers don’t show up until 10:30 or later.)  After N__ had walked his first ride back to her car, we headed out on the town, stopping by a famous blues club The Zoo Bar where he knew the man at the door.  We must have passed at least two or three more people that he knew on the sidewalk before we arrived at the Bricktop (which was only a few blocks away itself).  (I had that feeling of being with my brother E___ who is one of those people who seems to know everyone.  For instance, when the carpet cleaners showed up at my mom’s door in August, I opened it and the first thing the man in front said was, “Are you E___ D___’s sister?”  Yeah.  There aren’t many D____s; we’re probably related :))  So it was that I was introduced as the dancer from Pennsylvania who was visiting a friend in Omaha and had driven out to Lincoln for a milonga.  Among the many upsides of being out with someone who knows everyone is that you can pop into places without paying the cover!

So once at Bricktop, we headed straight to the mainly empty dance floor (I guess the college kids were more interested in parading around drunk on the street in their Halloween costumes that night).  With our stuff thrown in the corner and our shoes changed again, we hit the dance floor improvising whatever to a constant mix of dance and hip hop music, only breaking once for water.  Dancing is always one of those few activities in which I can only live in the present.  My brain forgets to think and gets a good rest for the evening.  Plus, when you find yourself matched with a creative and playful leader, it’s just plain unadulterated fun.  So for a couple of hours, I got to play Jennifer Grey’s role in an unchoreographed version of Dirty Dancing.  Around 1 a.m. I finally called it quits knowing that I still had an hour’s drive back to Omaha.  However, we made a small detour to the top of a parking garage (which took us several tries since most of them were already full) in order to get a “bird’s eye view” of Lincoln.  Thus the picture….

Although I had headed to Lincoln rather grumpy about the night out on my own (and the fact that small town tango communities tend to be rather limited), I had one of the most fun and freeing nights in a long time.  Dancing is one of those places of deep joy…particularly in community with others.  And I learned on the drive back to his place that N__ has dealt with some huge personal challenges which have resulted in great loss in his own life during the last few years.  But dancing has become a source of joy and connection with other people; it is, perhaps, a manifestation of grace in his life.  To hear a story like his is a reminder of the road we all walk from brokenness toward a place healing and thriving.  And as I’ve been reminded, some people choose to go down that road dancing.

(Lincoln, Nebraska)

 

November 2, 2010


10 Responses to “traveling encounters”


  1. 1 Ginna
    November 2, 2010 at 16:11

    Wow, gal. You sure know how to keep an open mind and sense of adventure while you’re traveling. I admire you. A passion like dance is a great ticket to new experiences. Keep it up.

    • November 2, 2010 at 17:12

      Thanks, Ginna. I’m not sure if it was a sense of adventure or a stubbornness at not spending another Friday night inside and on my own. I guess I was reminded that sometimes our risks are rewarded in ways that we can’t imagine. It’s like this Caedmon’s Call song that’s part of my on-going playlist. All about the “blessings in disguise.” I’m not sure if you call it openmindedness or desperation….

  2. November 3, 2010 at 21:17

    It never occurred to me to go to the book store when I visited Denver. I did meet a guy from the Buffalo area at Great Divide’s tap room and we swapped stories about growing up near there and homebrewing. Much to the dismay of his wife, who looked rather bored as we rambled on.

    Since you’ve been so careful about names, which I highly recommend by the way, you might want to camouflage your brother’s…

    • November 3, 2010 at 22:01

      LOl. Thanks for the note about my brother. I took out the last name, too, because I realized in seeing your message come into my inbox from linked in that Daelhousen kind of gives away just about everything. I still find it humorous to see my last name in print (as someone else’s) 🙂 The other funny thing about the whole name game is that I am obviously doing that and then the dancer I wrote about in the third section of this posted the link on his FB page with N___ is me. Yeah…so much for anonymity 🙂

      Well, if you end up back in Denver at some point, I highly recommend the Tattered Cover. It’s one of those funky, independent bookstores–earthy, full of wood and mismatched chairs. I love going into independent bookstores like those… Lots of discovery and they usually purchase interesting books.

      Hmmm…still need to post all those pictures from Colorado.

  3. November 4, 2010 at 14:20

    [letter]___ works pretty well to camouflage names, huh? 🙂

    I think the subtitle for this piece should be “Traveling encounters: in a small, small world.” To have that many people recognize you out of the blue, and to also meet someone, by chance, from NYC…. These things never cease to amaze me.

    I am glad you are having a blast!

    • November 4, 2010 at 14:43

      hilarious, right? I’ve been trying to be consistent on the whole letter thing and then of course this guy goes and posts the link on his FB profile which of course reads first and last name. Like if it had been about me on my profile I would have read:
      KIM DAELHOUSEN is K____

      I got a few extra readers that day though 🙂 Seriously, I think that this entry has been the most read entry in a while. Of course, fun encounters with interesting people always make good characters.

      I recently found this quote from travels with a friend back when I was living in France. I forget why we came up with it, but it seems particularly pertinent these days. Trying to figure out exactly what it’s saying to me right now before I write about it.

      Anywhere is a big place, Anything is a lot, and Anyone is hard to pick out in a crowd.

  4. 7 swamphouse mom
    November 7, 2010 at 22:46

    Enjoying reading and living your travels through you…what an adventurous spirit you share with SD!..remember our love and prayers go before and after you.

    • November 7, 2010 at 22:55

      Thanks, Aunt R____. I’m needing the prayers these days. I’ve been struggling with the insomnia/anxiety/insomnia cycle again in the past few days and weeks. All the uncertainty surrounding my life is exhausting me (and my nervous system) *sigh* One day…one day. Yeah! for sharing SD’s spirit. I feel like I’ve been grieving him in a new way in these last few weeks… It’s hard to feel this lost and not have my dad to talk to (as well as my mom).

  5. 9 Mom
    November 9, 2010 at 16:54

    Tennis is for me what dancing is for you, Kim…………..the opportunity to just be in the moment without even trying! Yes, that’s one of God’s grace gifts, and I accept! However, I still think about dancing someday, also………who knows?!

    Love,
    Mom


Leave a comment


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other subscribers